Vision Writers At The Aurealis Awards

Last night myself, Geneve Flynn, and Talitha Kalago attended the ceremony for the 2015 Aurealis Awards.

Talitha was a member of the judging panels for Best Horror Short Fiction and Best Horror Novel categories(you can read her article on things she learned being a judge). Geneve had been to workshops at the Contact 2016 convention. I went along as current president of Vision to admire all the past presidents and other members in attendance.

Our founding members Mariane de Pierres and Rowena Cory Daniells were the MCs for the night, entertaining us with their self comparison to Thelma and Louise – though promising to not drive the awards over a cliff.

I was impressed to see past president Kathleen Jennings taking the stage to hand out some of the awards as well as Kate Eltham. And let’s not forget a huge congratulations for past president Trent Jamieson for winning TWO categories with his novel ‘Day Boy’.

The table we sat at just happened to turn into the unofficial Vision Writers table as Chris McMahon asked if he could sit beside me (neither of us knowing at the time who the other was), Trent Jamieson joining him and Alicia Wanstall-Burke on the other side. The wonderful Paul Landynore joined us, and we forgave him for not being a Vision member ;p

It was a wonderful night celebrating Australian Speculative fiction and I can’t wait for next years ceremony (fingers crossed its in Brisbane again).

About Kirstie Olley

Kirstie Olley was the President of Vision Writers Group during 2015-2018, has had ten short stories published since joining the group in 2012, has been a finalist in the Aurealis Awards and received multiple honourable mentions in the Writers Of The Future contest. She also blogs and has free fiction at her website
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vision Writers At The Aurealis Awards

  1. Pingback: March Goals Round-Up 2016 | Storybook Perfect

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.